THE CIRCLE

cir

I remember the first time; I was a space.  I don’t remember too much about that lifetime.  I was a space separating two paragraphs.  I do not remember what the paragraphs were about or who wrote them.

My second time around I was quotation marks for a minor character in a short story.  I don’t remember the character’s name or what the story was about.

After several lifetimes as quotation marks, for various characters in various stories, I started coming back as other punctuation marks.  I lived as a colon, a semicolon, a question mark, an exclamation mark, and finally as a period.  It was after my lifetime as a period that my Spirit Guides suggested that I try life as a sentence.

“Wow!” I said.  “A complete sentence?  I want to be a sentence in a famous writer’s novel!”

“We don’t feel you’re ready for that yet.  We suggest you live as a sentence in an obscure writer’s short story,”  said my Spirit Guides.

“But I want to be a sentence in a famous writer’s novel.  I can handle it.  Please?  “

“We won’t stop you,” said my Spirit Guides.  “We only suggest, we never insist.”

I should have followed their suggestion.  I lived as a sentence in The Poor Man and the Lady by Thomas Hardy.  He ended up destroying this novel because he could not sell it.  Was my lack of readiness part of the reason he could not sell this novel?  Who knows?  From that lifetime I learned to follow my Spirit Guides’ suggestions.

I spent several lifetimes as a sentence.  Most times someone wrote me, but sometimes someone spoke me.  Soon I was returning as two or three sentences, and before long I started returning as a paragraph or two.

So, here I am in my present lifetime as this blog.  I look at the spaces between the paragraphs, in this blog, and wonder about their future lives.  What will these spaces be eons from now?  Will they learn the hard way that it is always best to follow their Spirit Guides’ suggestions?

No longer is it important to me to be a sentence in a famous writer’s novel.  If it happens, then great.  If not, then that is okay, too.  I accept my lifetimes and the karma I create.

Soon it will be time for me to go.  I used to fear going.  I saw it as an end, as death.  Now I see going as no big deal.  I’ve done it a thousand times, and will do it a thousand times more.

All life is a circle, and as a circle it has no beginning and no end.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on November 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

