GUT FEELING – 3, COMMON SENSE – 0

word

The library computer said that a book was,  “Not Available – Search In Progress.”   Common sense would say, “The book is lost.  No sense in checking the shelf.”  But my gut said, “Check the shelf.”  I did and the book was there.  How long was this book sitting on the shelf while the computer said that it was not available?

The grocery store will reduce almost-stale bread to fifty percent off.  The reduced-bread was on sale before its best-before date.  I asked the clerk, “Is it fifty percent off the original price, or fifty percent off the sale price.  The clerk said with such authority, “It’s fifty percent off the original price.”  Common sense would say, “The store clerk knows what he is talking about.”  My gut said, “Buy it and you’ll see it is fifty percent off the sale price.”  I did, and it was.  It is supposed to be fifty percent off the original price, but some human being made a mistake when programing the price information.  (Imagine that, a human being making a mistake.)

I have been late in filing my income taxes.  It’s because the dog ate my homework, and interference from sunspots.  I know, it sounds silly.  I don’t blame the tax people for not believing me.

The tax guy told me, “You will not receive any money from us until you file all your tax returns.  We will hold any money the government owes you, and that includes sales-tax refunds.”  Common sense would say, “Don’t count on receiving any checks.”   My gut feeling said,”A sales-tax refund check will arrive before you send all your tax returns.”   What a nice surprise when it did!

I do not always understand my gut feelings, but I trust them more than I trust common sense.

“Don’t try to comprehend with your mind. Your minds are very limited. Use your intuition.”

                                                         – Madeleine L’ Engle

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 1, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

