NOTICE OF ASSESSMENT

Canadian-Overseas-Tax-Preparation

I was expecting income-tax refund from the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA).  Instead I received a Notice of Assessment stating I owed money.  This assessment notice began, “Thank you for filing your income tax return . . .”

I had a choice?  Sure.  One day I was sitting around doing nothing when I thought, “Hey, I think I will do the CRA a favor and send them a tax return!”  How nice of them to thank me.

The assessment continues to explain my return and what they did not allow.  Loan-sharking came to mind as I read it.

“But I only made two cents,” I say.

And the CRA says, “We know, but you owe us ten cents.”

The assessment had a toll-free number in case I had any questions.  The office is open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday to Friday.  I tried calling many times and the line was busy, busy, and busy.  I last tried again at 4:50 p.m. and got through, but it was to a recorded message saying, “Thank you for calling the Canada Revenue Agency.  Our office is now closed.  Please call back . . . “

I thought I was going to get a tax refund.  I thought the CRA was open until 5:00 p.m.  What do I know?

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on July 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

