MY ONE PET PEEVE ABOUT BOOKS

26102

I love books!  I love discovering things through books!  I love when a plot twist takes me by surprise!  The last thing I want is to have a story spoiled by knowing what is going to happen before I discover it on my own.

I just finished Evelyn Waugh’s A Handful of Dust.  I enjoyed it!   The Introduction to this novel would have ruined my enjoyment if I had read it before reading the novel.  Professor Robert Murray Davis, who wrote the introduction,  gave away the plot!  Why did he do this?  Is he so wrapped up in his academic world that he does not see how he spoils the surprise by revealing the plot?  Could he not have written an Afterword revealing the plot and discussing it?

After having several classic novels spoiled by those who wrote the introductions to them, I wait until after I have read the novel before reading the introduction.  That way I experience the surprises while discovering the story on my own.

Did I mention how much I love books?

There is no Frigate like a Book  
To take us Lands away,  
  Nor any Coursers like a Page  
Of prancing Poetry –   
        This Traverse may the poorest take         
    Without oppress of Toll –   
How frugal is the Chariot  
  That bears a Human soul.
                - Emily Dickinson
About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on June 26, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

