REFLECTIONS ON MY CELL PHONE CASE

cellphoneholder

I love having things that no one else has.  This is hard to do in a society that mass produces everything.  This is why I like to make things from stuff that most people would consider garbage.

I could have bought a nice cell-phone case.  I could have accepted the many offers from people who had cell-phone cases they no longer needed.  I chose not to.  I made my cell-phone case from toilet-paper roll holders and black duct tape.  It does not look as nice as a store-bought case, but I do not care.  It works.  I made a small pocket on the back to carry a spare battery for my phone.  I love knowing that no one else in the Universe has a cell-phone case like mine.

Someone told me that a shaving brush lasts longer when you store it upside down.  I could have bought a shaving-brush stand, but chose not to.  I cut the top quarter off a water bottle and made the mouth a little bigger to hold my shaving brush.  With a string in the sides, this unique shaving-brush holder hangs keeping my shaving brush upside down.  I do not care that it does not look as nice as a mass-produced shaving-brush stand.  I love knowing that I am the only one in the Universe that has this shaving-brush holder.

My life.  What am I doing with my life?  I am living like many others, but it is not like many others because I am living my life my way.  I love being different and knowing that I am living my life my way.

But I confess that being a human being means that I am a social animal.  Being a social animal means that I can only go so far feeling comfortable about being different.  I am comfortable being different as long as there are other human beings out there being different.   If there were no other human beings out there being different, then I would quickly conform to the closest human group.  My need to fit in is stronger than my need to be different.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 30, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

