ONTARIO OPPORTUNITIES FUND

TEMP-2015-Logo-Ontario-Yours-to-Discover

I could not believe it when I read this on my income tax form:

Ontario Opportunities Fund – You can help reduce Ontario’s debt by completing this area to donate some or all of your 2014 tax refund to the Ontario Opportunities Fund . . .

I had to read it several times to make sure I was not misunderstanding what it was saying.   The poor Government of Ontario is destitute and needs help.  The taxes it takes are not enough; so it is asking taxpayers to give it some or all of their income-tax refunds.

Huh?  Who in his or her right mind would give an income-tax refund back to the government?  “Here, Ontario, I want you to have my income-tax refund.  You need it more than I do.”

I love the name,  Ontario Opportunities Fund.  Opportunities for whom?  For me?  I don’t think so!  Opportunities for any taxpayer in Ontario?  I don’t think so.  Opportunities for the Government of Ontario to get and spend more money and go further in debt?  I think so.

Hey Government of Ontario, I understand you are having some financial difficulties and may end up on the street.  It would be most appreciated if you could spare some money for a donation to the Gary Johnston Opportunities Fund.   Your donation would help reduce Gary Johnston’s debt, and give him some extra money that he, too, could waste.  Thank you.

http://www.fin.gov.on.ca/en/credit/oof/

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on May 23, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

