YESTERDAY . . .

the-beatles

Yesterday all my troubles seemed so far away.
Now it looks as though they’re here to stay.
Oh, I believe in yesterday.

Some days I believe in yesterday.  I think about how simple my life was, and long for times past.  Those are days when I lose perspective and forget how happy I really am.

The only reason that yesterday seemed a simpler time is because I lacked the awareness that I have today.  My attitude is the only difference between yesterday and today.    My attitude comes from my awareness which is better today than it was yesterday.  And my awareness expanded because of the wisdom I gained from my experiences.

Some people may judge my experiences as bad.  Experience is neither good nor bad; it is only experience.  If I am going to judge it, then I prefer to see all experience as good.

When I think about it, I have nothing to complain about.  Life is good.  When I lose perspective, I make problems worse in my head.  I am grateful for my health, and I am surviving.

But some days I forget how all experience is good; I forget how wonderful my life is; I forget how I make problems worse in my head.  It is on those days that I believe in yesterday.

Growing spiritually can be like a roller coaster ride. Take comfort in the knowledge that the way down is only preparation for the way up.”      – Rebbe Nachmanof Breslov

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on March 20, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

