MEANINGFUL AND LASTING SENTENCES?

452830868_0f1406ba87_b

I was at a loss for words when I got up to speak at a meeting of Verbs Without Sentences (VWS).  I had never had so many verbs watching me, and felt overwhelmed.  VWS had invited me to speak at their meeting to suggest ways they could find meaningful and lasting sentences.  When I got up to speak, my brain went on strike.  The verbs stared at me.

“Um . . . uh . . . uh . . . ”

I don’t know how long the strike lasted, but finally some words came.

“You want to find meaningful and lasting sentences,” I said, “but you won’t find them meeting among yourselves.  You have to get out there and hang around writers.  Writers produce meaningful and lasting sentences.  If you hang around writers, then it’s possible you will meet a meaningful and lasting sentence and live happily ever after.

This was so obvious to me.  Why hadn’t the verbs realized this before?  Is it because they are all action and no insight?

The verbs thanked me for my advice.  I was about to leave since they had no questions, but thought I would mention one more thing.

“Oh, before I go,” I said, “some of you have sentences in this blog.  I hope you find them meaningful and lasting.”

The verbs thanked me again, and I left.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on March 19, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

