THE RELUCTANT GHOST

ghost

 I’m not a very good ghost — I mean I’m a good ghost, but I’m not good at scaring you.  Scaring you is not right.  I have enough on my mind trying not to spill my ectoplasm while passing through walls let alone worrying about how I am going to frighten you.

I failed Fear 101 at ghost school.  I get no pleasure out of scaring people.  I never saw a ghost when I was a person, but I can imagine what it is like having a ghost scare you.

My teachers and fellow spooks scold me for not being like other ghosts.  My teachers accuse me of going against tradition. They say that I am worthless.  I know my worth is intrinsic and not determined by what I do, but some days I forget this and feel worthless.  On those days it does not help with teachers and fellow spooks telling me that I am worthless unless I scare people.

I will be around you, but I promise I will not frighten you.  If a ghost scares you, then know that it is not me.  I have much more productive things to do than scare people:

  • I can read books by passing through them;
  • I can tour snowflakes by going inside them;
  • I can go inside pictures and have adventures; (Abstract pictures are okay, but I prefer conventional ones.)
  • Or I can just sit and watch Eternity.

Sitting and watching Eternity is fun.  You don’t have to be a ghost to do it.  It’s easy to do.  You just sit and watch Eternity.  It’s that simple.

That’s it for now.  Boobye.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on March 3, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

