LISTENING TO AN EXPERT NO MATTER WHAT

images

 

I mentioned pinhole glasses in yesterday’s blog.  I find them amazing because they correct your vision whether you are nearsighted or farsighted.

Many years ago, I was at a party and pinhole glasses came up.  I had my pair with me.  A man I met for the first time asked me about them.  He had glasses that were thick, but not as thick as he turned out to be.  I do not remember his name.  Let’s call him Stupid.

Stupid tried on my pinhole glasses.

“Wow!” he said.  “I can read things up close and see things far away and these aren’t bifocals.  This is amazing!”

I told Stupid how I had given up my glasses and how my vision improved.  I said that I use the pinhole glasses because they do not keep my vision impaired the way regular glasses do, and actually exercise my eyes.

Stupid kept my pinhole glasses on for a long time.  He could not believe how they were able to correct his vision.

“Where do you buy these?” asked Stupid.  “I gotta get me a pair.”

I told Stupid where he could buy them.

“Great,” he said.  “I’m going to buy a pair.”

A year passed before I saw Stupid again.  It was at another party at the same place I met him the first time.  He was wearing his thick glasses.

“How did you make out with the pinhole glasses?” I asked Stupid.

“Oh, I didn’t bother buying them,” he said.

“Why not?”

“Well,” said Stupid, “I asked my optometrist about them.  He said that he never heard of them, and they were bullshit.”

“How can they be bullshit?” I asked.  “You tried them on and saw how they worked.”

“I know, but my optometrist says that they’re bullshit so I’m not going to waste my time with them.”

That was many years ago.  I have not seen Stupid since.  I am willing to bet that his eye glasses are thicker now, and his optometrist is mortgage-free.

 

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

