YOU’LL HAVE TO WEAR GLASSES FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE?

eyechart_alone

“You’ll have to wear glasses the rest of your life.  Your eyes will only get worse.”

That is what an optometrist told me when I was in my teens.  I felt ashamed about the thickness of my glasses, and asked him whether there was a way to improve my vision.  “No,” said the optometrist.   I believed him.

I gave up my glasses in July, 2004.  I always needed glasses for distance.  As I got older, I had to take my glasses off to read and work with things up close.  That meant that I needed bifocals, but my vanity would not allow me to get bifocals.  Bifocals are for old people and not me.

Because of the work I was doing, in July, 2004, I went three weeks without wearing my glasses.  After three weeks I put them on and it felt as if someone was squeezing my eyes.  I could not wear my glasses.  During the three weeks, without any vision-improvement exercises, my vision had improved!

Dr. William Bates (December 23, 1860 – July 10, 1931) came up with the Bates Method for improving eyesight.  If the optometrist knew about Dr. Bates and the vision-improving exercises, then the optometrist never told me.  After all, there is big money in failing eyesight.

According to Dr. Bates, your vision fluctuates and is not always perfect.  Your vision gets weaker when you are stressed and tired, and stronger when you are rested and relaxed.  Glasses do not allow you eyes to fluctuate.  Dr. Bates recommends not wearing glasses and doing vision improvement exercises.

My vision improved, during that three weeks, naturally.   Glasses are like crutches.  Walk with crutches all the time and you will need to walk with crutches all the time.

In July, 2004, I started doing vision-improvement exercises and wearing pinhole glasses when I needed to use glasses.

pin

Unlike regular glasses, pinhole glasses correct your vision and allow your eye muscles to fluctuate.  They do not stop your vision from improving.

I rarely wear my pinhole glasses now.  How much my vision improved since July, 2004!  I do not know whether my vision is perfect, but I can see so many things in the distance that were only a blur before.  I give thanks for what I can see today, and look forward to what I will be able to see tomorrow.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 21, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

