MAY

It has been ten years since I thought about May. Why did I think of her today? I have no reason to think of her. I cannot tell you her last name, or whether she is still alive.

May was in the nursing home with Dad. She had many health problems and limited finances. The thirty-year age difference did not stop a romance between May and Dad. May could have been Dad’s daughter. Dad talked about marrying May, and getting her on his health benefits as a dependent.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!  There was not much too my brother, sisters and I agreed upon, but we all agreed that benefiting from Dad’s health insurance plans was May’s motive for the romance.

I understand Dad’s attraction to May. May was just like Mom. Mom had a heartbeat, and so did May. That was the only quality that Dad looked for in a woman: a heartbeat. Mom lost her heartbeat when she died, and Dad slowly lost interest in Mom.

My brother, sisters and I did not approve of Dad’s romance, but we understood his need for companionship. We never said anything to Dad, but we resented May. No one could replace our Mother.

Dad’s out-of-the-blue violent behavior two months before he died ended his romance with May. That was ten years ago. I never went back to the nursing home after Dad’s death, and I forgot all about May. Why did I think of her today?

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 11, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

