THOUGHTS ON GOD

When I was a boy—some women would say that I am still a boy—I imagined God as a balding old man with long white hair and beard, and wearing a long white gown.   God sat on his throne, in Heaven, surrounded by angels.  He had a television so he could watch us, and a teleprinter that printed our prayers.

220px-Teletype_with_papertape_punch_and_reader

I imagined God with the technology that existed when I was a boy.  Children today must imagine God with a website, e-mail, a computer, a cell phone, a tablet, etc.  (If God has a tablet,  then Moses gave it to him.)

The keyword is imagine.  I now realize that God is beyond our intellectual understanding and imagination.

“Religions are the result of human error and misunderstanding, and have nothing to do with God.”

In an earlier blog I wrote, “Religions are the result of human error and misunderstanding, and have nothing to do with God.”  I like that quote, but it is not mine.  A voice in my head said it.  (Voices in my head do not mind when I take the credit for the things they say.)

God The Creator, The Almighty, The Unconditional Love, is everywhere.  There is no place where God is not.  This makes everywhere Holy Ground.  Our perceptions tell us otherwise, but our perceptions are false.  We can stand in a bright room with our eyes closed, and swear that the room is dark.

God is beyond our words and our intellectual understanding.  Unconditional Love are the only words that come close to describing what God is.  Nothing can affect Unconditional Love—nothing!  Appearances suggest otherwise, but they are only appearances, illusions.

What does Unconditional Love care whether we cover or uncover our heads in a place of worship?  What does Unconditional Love care whether women cover their faces in public?  How can Unconditional Love judge or be jealous?  Judgement, jealousy, and concern over clothing are some of the human ideas that humans project onto the gods they have imagined.  These projections have nothing to do with Unconditional Love.

Unconditional Love has no need for commandments, but I do.   I have one commandment.  My one commandment comes from the Hindu greeting Namasté.   Namasté  means, “I bow to The Divine in you.”   If I honor The Divine in you, then I will not harm you.  If I honor The Divine in you, then I will not steal from you.  If I honor The Divine in you, then everyday is the Sabbath, and I am forever honoring The Divine.

My Christian friends tell me that my thoughts on God are wrong, and that I am going to Hell because I have not accepted Jesus as my savior.  One day my Christian friends will discover that no one goes anywhere.  One day my Christian friends will see that all this time we have been standing in a bright room with our eyes closed surrounded by Unconditional Love.

Namasté

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on February 5, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sister Braswell

    I think that yiou ae completely right when you say that Gods love is unconditional.. It is. I am forever grateful for that. But I do believe that because he does love us so much he gave us comandment to help protect us.

    • Protect us? Protect us from what? In the world of appearances, illusions, we appear to need protection. Ultimately, beyond the illusions, there is only Unconditional Love and no need for protection.

Leave a Reply

