THE SOUND OF BREAKING GLASS

I love the sound of breaking glass!  As a kid, I threw stones through windows just to hear the glass break.  Rarely did I get caught.  To the best of my knowledge, I never injured anyone.

One week I broke the same window everyday, Monday to Friday, five days in a row.  This window was at the back of a house in a lane way I took to go to school.  I threw a stone and broke the window Monday morning while on my way to school.  I did not plan to do this.  I saw a stone and then the window and I picked up the stone and threw it.  Bullseye!  I saw that the window was fixed on Tuesday when I went to school, and broke the window again.  This second time was not planned, but I planned to break the window Wednesday, Thursday and Friday if it was fixed each day.  It was, and I did.  I never got caught.  I feel bad when I think about it now, but I was only six or seven years old.  What a rush hearing the glass break and then running!

How ironic that in my teens I got a summer job working for Hunt Windows Company.  Part of my job was emptying the scrap-glass bin where the window makers threw out—you guessed it!—scrap glass.  What a rush hearing the scrap glass smash when I dumped the scrap-glass bin!

I have never outgrown this addiction(?), but I have learned to control it.  One day I will have a concrete room where I can go to release tension and get high by smashing glass.  Until that time I will settle for the cracking noise from thin ice while stepping on frozen puddles in the gutter.

Bullet

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on January 31, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

