INTERESTING AND CHALLENGING CONVERSATIONS

Having no credibility with my family makes for interesting and challenging conversations.  I have no credibility with them because they do not approve of my life in the arts.  What I say means nothing to them.

Recently a collection agency called my nephew looking for a Gary Johnston.  My nephew contacted me and I told him that it was a mistake because I have never given his telephone number to anyone or any organization.  I told my nephew to disregard any future calls.  He was satisfied with that, and I thought the matter ended.  But my nephew had also contacted my brother, his father.   My brother called me demanding to know why a company called his son looking for me.

“I don’t know why,”  I said. “I have never given your son’s telephone number to anyone.”

“But they called him looking for Gary Johnston,” said my brother.  “Why would they call him?”

“I told you that I don’t know why.  It’s the wrong Gary Johnston.  It’s a mistake.”

“But they called him looking for you,” said my brother.

“I know they did, but it’s not me.  I called them.  It’s a collection agency looking for a different Gary Johnston with a different middle name.”

“How do you know that?” asked my brother.

“Did you not hear me?  I called the collection agency and it’s a mistake.”

“I know you called them, but I wanna know how you got that information?  How do you know it’s a different Gary Johnston?  And why would they call my son looking for you?”

As I said, having no credibility with my family makes for interesting and challenging conversations.

By the way, I do owe some people money, but it is not at the collection-agency stage yet.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on January 30, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

