LOVING OUR ENEMIES?

luke6

 

The Christian leaders of western countries have an odd way of loving their enemies.  I don’t understand it, but it has something to do with violence and dropping bombs.  Perhaps these leaders have taken lessons from Jian Ghomeshi.

I am not a Christian.  I do not accept Jesus as my savior, but reading his words sometimes moves me to tears.

Imagine a country is attacked and its Christian leader says, “We must love the people who did this to us.  Let us  pray for them.”  And that is it.   No war.  No retaliation.  Just love . . .  That is as likely to happen as Rush Limbaugh converting to Islam.

I once spoke to a devout Christian who hated Muslims and favored the war on terror.  I asked him about these words from Jesus.

“Shouldn’t we be turning the other cheek and not striking back?” I asked.

“Don’t be ridiculous!” he said. “You want the world to see us as cowards?”

“But what about Jesus saying to love your enemies and turn the other cheek?”

“Well when Jesus said that, he didn’t mean that literally.”

“Then how did he mean it?”

“Uh-er-uh-I-I don’t know, but he didn’t mean for people to walk all over us?  You can’t run a country by praying for your enemies and turning the other cheek.”

 

 

hazlitt

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on January 17, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

