SOME THINGS I THOUGHT WHEN I WAS A KID

The killing in movies looked too real.  I thought that the people were actually killed.   Adults were always having debates on Capital Punishment.  I thought that the movie production companies took convicted murderers and gave them roles in movies.  The convicted murderer’s death sentence took place on-screen.  How else could anyone explain such graphic deaths?   I did not hear about that many people getting convicted of murder; so I thought that the production companies were getting the convicted murderers from other countries.

Of course once the convicted murderers died, their souls went to Hell.  I knew what Hell and Heaven looked like from pictures, but there were no pictures of a person’s soul.  I thought a soul looked like a rib cage only with tiny white wings.  A person’s soul was their rib cage only with tiny white wings.

I thought about death a lot.  Death frightened me.  I feared my father or mother would die.  A few friends had lost one of their parents.

Death looked like Death in Ingmar Bergman’s The Seventh Seal.

When I learned that numbers were infinite, I was sad because I would never live long enough to count to the last number.  I wanted to know what the last number was.  “Even if you count after you die, while you’re in Heaven,” said my teacher, “you still will never get to the last number.”

I still get an image of a rib cage with tiny white wings when I hear the word soul.  I have come to accept the infinity of numbers, and it is okay not knowing what the last number is.

 

 

 

ribcageskeleton

(You will have to imagine the tiny white wings)

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on September 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

