REGRETS? I HAVE A FEW.

Funny how the mind will suddenly transport you to back to incidents that occurred so long ago.  Every so often this incident pops up in my mind along with the regret.

I was about 7 years old, and a sanctimonious little bastard when it came to religion.  I went to Sunday school every Sunday.  I never  wanted to go, but I did not want to go to Hell when I died.  So there I was with the rest of the hypocrites, both adult and children, pretending that I wanted to be in church on Sundays.   Sunday school taught us that our Protestant religion was the right religion.  I believed it.

We had one Jewish family in our neighborhood whose last name was Fox.  The only Fox family member I remember is Saulie Fox.  Saulie was about my age.  He had brown hair and freckles.   He looked like Pugsley Addams.   I never played with Saulie much.  He kept to himself.

“What?  Jews don’t believe in Jesus?”  I said.   My Sunday school teacher had just said so, but I could not believe it.  “How can they not believe in Jesus?  He’s the Son of God!  If they don’t believe in Jesus, then they’re going to Hell when they die.”  My Sunday school teacher agreed.

After Sunday school, I sought Saulie Fox.   I had to find out for sure.  I found him playing near his home.

“Saulie, do you believe that Jesus is the Son of God?”

“No.”

“Why not?”

“I don’t know.  That’s my religion.”

“What a stupid religion!  And you’re stupid for believing it!”

I told him!  I strutted away knowing that God was proud of me for what I had said to Saulie Fox.

I do not remember seeing Saulie Fox after that.  I certainly was not going to play with someone who was going to Hell when he died.

Saulie Fox, wherever you are,  know that to this day I regret my ignorant and self-righteous behavior.  I am sorry.  I am sorry.  I am sorry.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 6, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

