SO MUCH EFFORT . . .

somucheffeort

I love that quote!   I read it in a book a many years ago.  I cannot remember the book or the name of the author, and cannot find it online.   It sums up our lives and our surroundings.

I do not mention the problems I am facing when someone asks me, “How are you?”  I do the customary thing and smile and answer, “Fine.”    I suppose I am fine in that I can answer fineAnd I will make sure that I appear and sound fine.  But I may not feel fine.

That pretty woman over there all dolled up, with her makeup applied perfectly and not a hair out of place, what problems does she have?   Is she happy in her relationship?   Has someone close to her died recently?   Does she have life-threatening illness?

What about that businessman in his Armani suit?  Is he  about to lose his job?  Is he on the verge of bankruptcy?  Does he have any health problems?

What about politicians?  Is what they tell us true?  When leaders of countries meet, do they smile and shake hands behind closed doors the way they do in front of the cameras?

I was in a McDonald’s once where a lady complained to the manager that her hamburger did not look like the hamburger in the display picture.   The manager said that generally no hamburgers look like the one in the display picture.  She demanded her money back and got it.

Over two thousand years ago, Roman poet Virgil said,  “Trust not too much to appearances.”   I put effort into trying to follow his advice.

trustnotoovirgil

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on August 2, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

