THE VOICES RETURN?

“So you figured out that we never really left you.”

Irwin, my cross-eyed amoeba Spirit Guide, good to hear from you!   I was afraid I would be charged with assault if I continued to grab the muse by the throat.   Where are Kurt and Mark?

“Where else?  Outside having a smoke.”

And Tiresias?

“He’s around here somewhere.  You know how he loves to wander around your imagination.”

You guys want me to learn to create on my own.

“That’s right.”

Why is it so important for me to create on my own?

“Suppose some psychiatrist puts you on medication which removes us from your awareness.   If we wean you off of us, then you will still be able to write, create, or whatever no matter what.”

That means you will leave me again?

“We don’t really leave you, we hide.  It was no problem finding places to hide with all the space you have inside your head.”

I could try finding you.

“Why waste your energy doing that when you could be creating?”

But you make creating so much easier.

“In different forms, many years ago, we weaned composer  Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky  off of us.  Look at the quote from a letter he wrote after we weaned him.”

There is no doubt that even the greatest musical geniuses have sometimes worked without inspiration. This guest does not always respond to the first invitation. We must always work, and a self-respecting artist must not fold his hands on the pretext that he is not in the mood. If we wait for the mood, without endeavoring to meet it half-way, we easily become indolent and apathetic.

About Gary Johnston

I am an imaginary number -- a symbol used to count and measure. As Senior Imaginary Number at Einstein Equations Incorporated, I facilitate the calculation of the impossible.

Posted on July 24, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

